top of page

Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League


Victoria Launches State AFL Wheelchair League

More Victorians will have access to playing Australian Football in season 2018, with the launch of the inaugural Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League (VWFL). 


In partnership with the Robert Rose Foundation, AFL Victoria and Disability Sport and Recreation, the new league is the first opportunity people with a physical disability will have to play AFL in a regular state-wide competition.

For information about the VWFL and for all results, ladders and fixture, click here: 2018 Robert Rose Foundation VWFL

 Robert Rose Foundation VWFL Grand Final
(ABC News story)

This story on the Robert Rose Foundation VWFL Grand Final aired on ABC news, Sunday September 2nd, 2018. Thanks to the ABC News and AFL Victoria for the footage. Great to see the Victorian Wheelchair Football League getting more exposure and opportunities to grow the sport

*Video courtesy of ABC

Pat McKay.jpg

Pat McKay Claims Robert Rose Foundation VWFL Best & Fairest Medal

Photo courtesy of AFL Victoria:


St Kilda star Patrick McKay has claimed the inaugural Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League Best and Fairest award at the End of Season Presentation Night on Monday. Held at Punt Road’s Maurice Rioli Room, over 150 guests gathered to celebrate the inaugural season of the first state-wide Australian Football wheelchair competition. The 28-year-old took home top honours after polling 31 votes, ahead of Richmond’s Riley Fitzgerald (25 votes), St Kilda’s Ryan Smith (24 votes) and Collingwood’s Richard Amon (24 votes).

McKay was one of the Saints’ most consistent performers, dominating in the centre and up forward on occasions when the game was in the balance.

Known for this quick and fierce attack on the football, McKay played in all eight matches for the season, and was pivotal in the Round 9 draw against eventual premiers Collingwood.

Five AFL Club Best and Fairest award winners were also announced on the night, with Richard Amon (Collingwood FC), Caleb Logan (Essendon FC), Peter Ogunyemi (Hawthorn FC), Yasmina McGlone (Richmond FC) and Patrick McKay (St Kilda) claiming top honours.

The inaugural 2018 Team of the Year was unveiled, with eight players selected in the squad. Named in the forward line was Richmond’s Riley Fitzgerald and Essendon spearhead Caleb Logan, St Kilda’s Patrick McKay was selected in the centre, Collingwood captain/coach Brendan Stroud and Richmond’s Yasmina McGlone made up the backline, while Collingwood’s Richard Amon, Hawthorn’s Peter Ogunyemi and St Kilda captain Marcus Sander were selected on the interchange.

Richmond’s Riley Fitzgerald capped off his night of awards after securing the Leading Goal Scorer of the Year after chalking up 50 goals for the season, while the St Kilda Football Club received the AFL Values Award for consistently displaying the values of the AFL and the League.

Article Source:

GF Winners.jpg


RRF VWFL Grand Final

The Magpies beat The Tigers to win the inaugural Robert Rose Foundation VWFL Grand Final

The inaugural Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League Grand Final on September 3rd, 2018, saw two arch rivals and old foes Collingwood and Richmond battle for the premiership. In front of over 400 people at Boroondara Sports Complex, Collingwood totally dominated the game from the first bounce and were far too good for a nervous Tigers side, winning 13.4(84) to 2.10(22).

The Tigers started the game well, controlling the play in the first few minutes, scoring the first point of the game, but it was Collingwood's sharp shooter forward Richard Amon who scored the first major of the game. The league's leading goal scorer, Richmond's Riley Fitzgerald then scored to put the Tigers a point up, half way through the quarter but their lead was short lived. The more experienced and seasoned veterans of Collingwood dominated from there on. Ex Australian wheelchair basketballers and Collingwood's backline Orfeo Cecconato and captain Brendan Stroud shut down Richmond's forwards. Working in unison with ex Australian wheelchair basketball head coach and centre Mark Walker, they provided much needed attack for their forwards in Richard Amon and Brett Newman and by half time, the Pies were ahead 7.3(45) to 1.3(9).

A half-time off field incident saw Riley Fitzgerald forced out of the game and rushed to hospital after collapsing off court. Without their spearhead forward, Richmond looked for answers up forward throwing newcomer Adam Georgelin up front but the Collingwood defence was tough and brutal and by three quarter time,the game was all but over. Collingwood had a 6 goal quarter to 1 goal to lead 13.4(82) to 2.5(17). With the game wrapped up, Collingwood turned to their bench, whilst Richmond tried desperately to bridge the gap, but some wayward shots at goal, saw them score only 5 points. Collingwood didn't add  to their three quarter time score and when the final siren sounded, the Pies, along with club President Eddie Maguire and fans in the stands celebrated a 60 point win and the league's first premiership.

Final score: Collingwood 13.4(82) to Richmond 2.10(22)

Richard Amon proved yet again to be a handful for Richmond's backline, scoring 9 goals was well supported by Brett Newman(3) and Mark Mulcahy(1). Richmond's Riley Fitzgerald and Adam Georgelin had 1 goal each. Collingwood back Orfeo Cecconato was awarded the Robert Rose Medal for best player in the grand final.


Congratulations Collingwood VWFL players from all of us at the Robert Rose Foundation. GO PIES!!

bottom of page